Johannes Brahms: Uncompromising Perfectionist

Johannes Brahms Concerto for Violin and Cello: May 1833 – April 1897

Brahms was a German composer and pianist of the romantic period. Also born in Hamburg, he spent much of his professional life in Vienna. An uncompromising perfectionist, Brahms destroyed some of his works and left others unpublished. The Double Concerto was Brahms’ final work for orchestra and was the product of a rich lifetime of experience. It was composed in the summer of 1887 in Thun, Switzerland and premiered October 18, 1887. As it was initially performed, it was noted that Brahms treated the orchestra symphonically. This led to the complaints that the solo parts were enormously difficult, it was impossible to hear them and there was not nearly enough of them.

Fun fact: He worked on his First Symphony for 15 years before it was performed. He destroyed the slow movement and wrote a new one before it was published

Our Winter Concert: Romantic Riches

To watch and listen to Brahms’ piece live, join us February 25, 2018 for our second concert of the 2017/2018 season as we travel back in time for an evening with Mendelssohn, Brahms and Dvorak at the La Mirada Theatre for the Performing Arts.

Guest Performers: Sorah Myung, Violin and Greg Adamson, Cello
Mendelssohn – Hebrides Overture (Fingal’s Cave)
Brahms – Concerto for Violin and Cello
Dvorak – Symphony No. 6

Visit the event page for more information and free tickets.