Antonin Dvořák: Symphonic Composer

Antonin Dvořák Symphony #6: September 1841 – 1 May 1904

Largely pastoral in nature and published in 1880, this symphony shows a resemblance to the Symphony No. 2 of Brahms, particularly in the outer movements, but not so much in the third-movement, Furiant, a vivid Czech dance. This was the symphony that made Dvořák internationally known as a symphonic composer.

From 1892 to 1895, Dvořák was the director of the National Conservatory of Music in New York City. He returned to Bohemia because of extreme homesickness. His main goal in America was to discover “American Music” and engage in it, much as he had used Czech folk idioms within his music. Two of his compositions while in the Untied States were the Symphony No.9, “From the New World” and the String Quartet in F (the “American”).

Fun Fact: The Symphony No. 6 was the first of his 9 symphonies to be published.

Our Winter Concert: Romantic Riches

To watch and listen to Mendelssohn’s piece live, join us February 25, 2018 for our second concert of the 2017/2018 season as we travel back in time for an evening with Mendelssohn, Brahms and Dvorak at the La Mirada Theatre for the Performing Arts.

Guest Performers: Sorah Myung, Violin and Greg Adamson, Cello
Mendelssohn – Hebrides Overture (Fingal’s Cave)
Brahms – Concerto for Violin and Cello
Dvorak – Symphony No. 6

Visit the event page for more information and free tickets.