Join us February 25 for the second concert of the 2017/2018 season as we travel back to 1880 for an evening of music written and dedicated to Hans Richter, the conductor of the Vienna Philharmonic.

FREE Concert
Sunday, February 25, 2018
Pre-Concert Discussion at 2:00 p.m. – Concert Begins at 3:00 p.m.
La Mirada Theatre for the Performing Arts
14900 La Mirada Blvd, La Mirada, CA 90638

Be sure to join us in the theater at 2:00 p.m. for a lively discussion with conductor Alan Mautner, as he will explore the history of Dvořák’s orchestration and its place in history. Tickets and more event information will be available shortly.

About Dvořák’s Symphony #6
Czech composer Antonín Dvořák (1841–1904) composed his Symphony No. 6 in D major, Op. 60, B. 112, in 1880. It is dedicated to Hans Richter, who was the conductor of the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra. With a performance time of approximately 40 minutes, the four-movement piece was one of the first of Dvořák’s large symphonic works to draw international attention. In it, he manages to capture some of the Czech national style within a standard Germanic classical-romantic form.